Thank you to everyone who commented on my new sweater! I am pleased with it. I can wear it with just about anything. It looks a bit rumpled in the photo, but that’s my casual nature anyway. I explained my frustration about the photo shoot, but I should clarify that my frustration was not with my mother. She was very kind to take the photos for me. Thanks mom! Someone should have taken a photo of us standing in the seaweed. It was comical.

There are just a couple of things I forgot to mention about knitting the sweater. I used Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Sewn Loose Cast Off on the sleeves. However, there was no way I was going to sew the cast off edge, of the infinity ruffle of doom. So, luckily I remembered Wendy mentioning the Stretchy Lace Cast Off in her blog. It saved me! Thanks Wendy!

Now, Katherine tagged me with the 7 Truths meme. It has taken me a while to come up with some answers, and none are as interesting as hers!

Rules -
*Link the person who tagged you
*Tell seven truths about you either funny/different
*Tag seven people at the end of your blog entry
*Leave a message at their blog to tell them they’ve been tagged.

Here it goes:

  • 1. I was bitten on the leg, by a lamprey eel, in Belleisle Bay. It happened when I was a teenager. We were swimming, off our boat, when I felt something nibble my leg. I turned in the water, and a long, silver, tubular, ugly, ugly, thing was sticking straight up in the water, and was attached to my leg. I tried to take it off, but my hand slid along the slimy length of the ugly beastie. Did I mention ugly? I had to grab it by its head and twist, in order to break the suction. Then I threw it as hard as I could. Luckily, it didn’t get any teeth into me, but it left a red welt. Just previous to entering the water, I asked my dad if there were any eels. “No”, he said. Ha!
  • 2. I dated a Survivor.
  • 3. I lost most of my hearing in one ear. It happened literally overnight, 2 1/2 years ago. The doctors say that it’s probably Otosclerosis, which is hastened by pregnancy hormones. However, they won’t know for certain unless they “open me up”. Then, I run the risk of loosing the rest of my hearing in that ear. I say no thank you. As it’s a conductive hearing loss, a simple hearing aid will not help. It would be nice to know what’s wrong though. It started with ringing in the ear, tinnitus, which I ignored. Now, I’m starting to hear ringing in the other ear as well. I’ve read that Otosclerosis is quite rare, and can be hereditary. However, no one else in my family has it! The only person I know of, who has Otosclerosis, is Florence Henderson, from the Brady Bunch. As far as I know, we’re not related. Do you watch CSI? The character Gil Grissom has Otosclerosis.
  • 4. In knitting, I don’t understand “negative ease”, except for socks. When I see a sweater with negative ease, I just think it’s two sizes too small. It looks uncomfortable to me, and I’m all for comfort. However, if my next sweater is too small, I totally did it on purpose ‘kay?
  • 5. My house is fairly clean, but my computer desk is always a complete mess. It’s stacked high with genealogy papers and books, scribbled notes, knitting projects and patterns, and…dust *blush*. If I put things away, I want to be able to readily find them again. I don’t have a good system for that obviously.
  • 6. I’d rather do outdoor yard-work than indoor housework. (Except for shoveling snow, as our driveway is so long). Give me lawn mowing, gardening, porch staining, gravel hauling, lawn edging etc. any day, over dish washing, or floor washing!!
  • 7. Along the same lines, although I can cook well, I’m not fond of it. I’m not fond of it at all. However, I do like to eat!! So, I have to do one, in order to do the other. It’s a love/hate thing. It doesn’t help that while I like varied things, my husband is a meat and potatoes guy. Experimentation is not highly regarded.

I’m tagging these great folks:

Carol
Lisa
Kris
Marisol
Daphne
Kelly
Pam

…and anyone else who wants to play. If you don’t want to do the meme, no worries. If you’ve already done the meme…oops, sorry!

