Spring is supposed to be early this year, but it’s definitely winter now! It’s cold. very very. cold. I’ve been meaning to knit a hat and scarf for myself, but I haven’t gotten around to it. I’ve had too many other projects on the go. However, I’ve been out shovelling snow with a scarf wrapped around my head, and it keeps blowing off! It’s not even a proper scarf. It’s a chenille thing that may be useful to wear in the car, from point A to point B, but it’s not very beneficial for shovelling in minus whatever temperatures. I must have looked really pathetic, because luckily a nice man, with a plow attached to the front of his truck, stopped to help plow me out…but then I still had to unbury our car.

Here’s the thing, I have a problem with hats. Actually, my problem is my hair. I have thick, curly hair that doesn’t fit under most hats. Whether my hair is long or short, it just doesn’t matter. It’s still thick and curly, and hats still don’t fit me. They give me a headache. So, whatever I knit, it has to be very stretchy. Not only that, but I have a problem with wool. I love to knit with it, but I can’t wear it next to my skin. Too scratchy! Sweaters are not a problem, because I can wear something else underneath. However, I can’t wear wool socks, wool scarves, wool hats etc. It must be a curse.

I need a scarf to go with this hat, and the scarf can’t be wool, so having a wool hat lined with cotton is out. I decided upon using Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece, which does have 20 percent wool content, but doesn’t seem to be at all scratchy. I also found a hat pattern that may be stretchy enough. It’s not fancy…but if I can shovel snow in this hat, I’ll be happy!

Ribbed Hat

 

  • Pattern: Two-Tone Hat

  • Source: Blue Sky Alpacas

  • Materials: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece, in New Age Teal

  • Needles: 4 mm

