I thought that I’d be able to show a finished hat today. I did all of the decreases, did the cast off, and found out that it was too short. I need to do at least two more inches, before the decreases. Oh, well.

In other news, I started a scarf. I decided to do Grumperina’s Shifting Sands scarf. I don’t want anything so lacy that the wind will go right through. This is meant to be a very practical scarf. I chose Grumperina’s design because I like the texture of it. I think it’s interesting to look at, and to knit, without being lacy. That being said, I thought I’d add a lacy edging to it. I don’t really like fringe, so I thought I’d do this instead. I’m doing “Fancy Leaf Edging” from Knitting on the Edge, by Nicky Epstein.

I have an “in progress” photo, but unfortunately the colour is off. It’s actually a lighter teal colour than what is shown. There are 168 cables in just 4 inches of knitting here!

Shifting Sands on a Teal Ocean...and Leaves?

 

I wanted to this scarf a bit wider than Grumperina’s, so I’m using 62 stitches rather than 52 stitches, and I’m using 4 mm needles. Here’s a photo of the leaves:

 

Lace Leaves

 

I’m doing the cables without a cable needle, but it still takes a while. If anyone else decides to try this pattern, I highly recommend knitting when the children are in bed. That’s if you have children of course. I can’t tell you how many times I forgot to do the knit stitches before the cables. It should be easy right? Knit stitches. I seem to want to cable the whole bleepin’ scarf…..just forget about any old knit stitches. Distractions don’t help.

From Shifting Sands and a Teal Ocean, to snow drifts. It’s “Eye Candy Friday”, so here’s my photo for you:

 

Going Home at Dusk

 

Have a great weekend!

