Afew days ago, I recommended a pattern book that I really like. It’s called Adorable Knits For Tots (Krause Publications). I have made a few items from this book: the Fair Isle Cardigan (made two), the Funky Tank Top (made two), the Bold Banded Mittens, and the Lacy Sweater. I haven’t had any problems. However, a certain lovely lady, DebbieKnitter purchased the book, and has been having a miserable time with one of the patterns. When this occurs every knitter goes through the questions, “Is it me?”, “Am I doing something wrong?”, “Is there a pattern error?”

Now, this is where things get sticky. On first glance, it appears that there are no errata sheets available for any Zoë Mellor patterns. Can it be that this one designer happens to have no errors in her patterns? Bah! Debbie phoned Krause publishing and was finally given some pattern corrections. If anyone reading this encounters a pattern problem, please call the publishing company to get the corrections. Keep on them to get back to you too.

All of this has lead to enormous frustration. Others have had similar experiences. The frustration can readily be seen if you do a Google search on the book. Check out the book reviews on Amazon.com. Read all of them though; there are positive ones too. Some of the problems people had could have been easily remedied, if they had done a gauge swatch. However, that’s not the point. The point is that the inaccessibility of the author, Zoë Mellor, is leading to all kinds of negative feedback. It’s my humble opinion that you should be able to find errata pages before you attempt a pattern! Then you aren’t going through the questions, “Is it me?”, “Is it an error?”.

Now, the problem that Debbie had was with the “Chunky Cabled Sweater”. It’s a very cute sweater, if you can actually knit it. The centre panel, cabled lattice, was not working out at all. So, on the weekend I tried to knit the pattern myself. It worked out fine for me. It seems that I have a corrected edition! I can’t for the life of me find an edition number. How do you know, before you buy the book, if you have the latest edition? Frustration.

This is a very long way to say….Zoë Mellor get your act together!! I like your patterns; I want to recommend them. Be accessible to your consumers!!! Care about the knitters, and their success! Zoë Mellor…where are you? Yooo hoooo! As if she will read this…..

(Note added much later: I just want to leave a note here that I have written about the topic of Adorable Knits For Tots pattern corrections, again in a subsequent post. To sum it up, Debbie Knitter persevered and got the pattern corrections for the Adorable Knits For Tots book, from Krause Publications and their associates in the U.K. Debbie has posted all of the corrections here. I hope this helps some people out there.)

Okay, now moving on. I’m sorry to have all of that negativity, before showing this gorgeousness. I promised photos of this Sundara yarn.

Sundara Yarn - Teal Over Green

 

Once again, I had problems capturing this yarn. Do I show the softness, or the sheen. Do I show the teal or the green?

Sundara Yarn - Teal Over Green Sundara Yarn - Teal Over Green

 

You can click on these to see larger versions. Then click “all sizes” at the top. The last picture probably shows the green in the colour the best. Although, the glint is a bit overwhelming.

Anyway, Sundara, if you should happen to read this….the yarn is gorgeous! I love it.

