This pattern, Bayerische Socks by Eunny Jang, is one that I’ve been wanting to try for a while. I’ve also been wanting to try Knit Picks Gloss yarn. Why? Well, I’ve never used any Knit Picks yarn before. Maybe it’s because I live in Canada, and the thought of the exchange rate, shipping, and duty charges, sort of counteracts the draw of their low prices. It’s all worth it for Sundara’s yarn, but Knit Picks? Well, I still wanted to see what all the hype is about. So, I ordered some Knit Picks Gloss in Woodland Sage. Yes, once again, green. I was interested in the Gloss because of the 30% silk content. Due to my difficulty wearing wool, I wanted to see if this yarn was less scratchy. I also really wanted to see what the stitch definition was like.

Bayerische Sock Progress

 

Hence, the beginnings of the above Bayerische socks in the Gloss. This may not have been my most brilliant idea, but, hey, it’s an experiment. The Gloss says “hand wash only”. I may take the trouble to hand wash socks, because I went to the trouble of hand-knitting them. However, I don’t think I’d give them as a gift. Who would thank me for hand wash only socks? If I have to keep them, these better not be scratchy. I have delicate “feets”, as my daughter would say.

 

 

Bayerische Sock Progress

 

 

Doing the Shifting Sands scarf, and learning to cable without a cable needle, has prepared me well for this pattern. That being said, these socks are taking me a long time. I actually started them last week. I would say that I can do about 8 rounds in an entire evening, before going cross-eyed! I’m not a super fast knitter, but this is s-l-o-w. I may not see these socks finished in my lifetime.

