For the past couple of days, I’ve been trying to get something completed on ye ol’ piratey mittens. I started them several times actually. *sigh* Then, I ripped them out. I’m just trying to work out a child sized version, that’s a bit less scary looking. Hopefully, they will be finished on time for the “We Call Them Pirates” knitalong, but we’ll see. Blogging/surfing seems to be eating into my knitting time. I don’t know how you all do it, truly I don’t!

In any case, some people have asked to see more knits from the book Adorable Knits For Tots by Zoë Mellor.

 

Child's Sweater Vest

 

 

The book pictures this item as a child’s summer tank top, but my son wears it as a sleeveless sweater or vest. I actually made two of these. One of them didn’t fit over the head of the recipient. Instead of making the neck larger, I left the shoulder seam open a couple of inches. I added two buttons by the gap in the seam. Then I crocheted small chains, which I attached to the inside edge of the gap, to make button holes. It worked out well in the end. I don’t think I would have been happy with the finished vest, if I had made the neck larger. Here’s another picture. (This one doesn’t have the buttons) My son is holding one of his sister’s hair doo-dads, and is standing on a chair.

 

Child's Sweater Vest

 

 

I should mention again that DebbieKnitter has posted errata for this pattern book here. There is errata for this pattern:

 

PAGE 52
Funky Tank Top – Tension/gauge –

20 sts and 28 rows to 10cm/4in

 

My book does have this error. The gauge shows something different. Fortunately for me, I had already done the Lacy Sweater. It was knit in the same yarn, with the same sized needles, but the pattern gauge was written correctly. I noticed the inconsistency with the two gauges, but I knew that the lacy sweater worked out for me….so I just carried on as if that typo wasn’t there. It all worked out in the end.

 

Tank Top - Sleeveless Sweater

 

Now back to knitting those mittens…………..

