I‘ve been missing in action for a couple of days. Unfortunately, I was literally knocked flat by a vicious flu bug. I’m better now. Anyway, I did have time to finish up these children’s “Pirate” mittens, for the “We Call Them Pirates” knitalong. This is a picture of my daughter wearing them. I didn’t put this particular picture on Flickr, and I don’t have the energy today to figure out how to change the size. So, I’m sorry but this picture is rather large.

 

Pirate Mittens

 

She loves them; can you tell? I don’t think she’s going to let me give them to my nephew along with the hat. These mittens may have looked better with two skulls, instead of the lettering. However, it’s definitely the lettering that’s the cool factor for my daughter. I promised “Shiver Me Timbers” lettering to the kiddies, so that’s what I had to do. There was one problem though. I did the mittens in the round. These mittens are for a 4-6 year old child. How was I supposed to get my hand in there to embroider lettering?? Groan. I promised. Somehow though, I managed to do it.

 

Child's    Child's

 

I modified the Hello Yarnsmitten pattern, to fit a child. I used 40 stitches, instead of 48, then I added two after the white wrist section. I did the cuff 3 inches, because we like to put mitten cuffs under the coat, so no snow gets up there. I used 8 stitches, instead of 9, for the thumbs. Once again, I used Rowan Handknit DK cotton from The Needle Emporium for these.

 

Child's    Child's

 

This is a little off topic, but did anyone notice that Cookie, a wonderful sock pattern designer, has a new website? You can purchase her patterns, in a downloadable format, at Cookie A Knitwear Designs. I purchased mine! It was too easy.

(Note added later: Told ya I was itching to have pictures of my children on here….my husband okayed this one.)

