Just to get right to the point, as you can see by this horrid picture, I need a new pair of slippers. This isn’t even the slipper that’s really awful. I’m not going to show you the other one; I’ll spare you that.

 

Very Old Slipper

 

I have never been one to wear slippers before. It may be because we have hardwood floors now, and it’s more draughty? (aka drafty) I grew up in a house with hardwood floors though, and was fine with socks. Maybe it’s just that I’m getting older? Nah, it couldn’t possibly be that! Anyway, when I saw the Yarn Harlot’s Felted Clogs, I knew I had to make ’em. I even bought almost the same colours that she used, but in fairness, I am replacing a blue pair right? I’ve never felted anything before, so this was a first for me. I was a bit worried when I knit this monster:

 

Fiber Trends Felt Clogs

 

My four year old daughter took that picture! Those are her toes in the top corner. Anywho, the other thing that made me worry about this pattern was that it called for very loose back stitching on the sole. Otherwise, when the slipper is felted, it could become distorted. What constitutes very loose? I decided not to worry about it. I decided to err on the side of caution, and do Loopy stitches. I’m planning to add leather (or my husband suggested vinyl) soles anyway, so if the stitches were too loose, I’d be covering them up. (Pencil for scale)

 

Fiber Trends Felt Clogs

 

So, those loopy stitches by the pencil, are down the centre of the sole. It turned out that worry was needless. After felting, the sole was as smooth as could be. No loose stitches at all. It was too hard to get an after shot of the sole, due to the dark colour. However, here’s one felted slipper.

 

Fiber Trends Felt Clogs

 

Cool huh? You might notice that the pattern is for “Felted Clogs”, and what I have is a slipper. I did a slight modification to the pattern and added a couple of short rows at the back. I also decreased two stitches there, for a tighter ankle. I wanted a real slipper for warmth, but my next pair might be clogs. I would definitely do this pattern again!

 

Fiber Trends Felt Clogs

 

So, that’s one slipper down, and one to go! Now, I have to figure out where to get leather soles. My LYS doesn’t have them. I really think I need them for the non-slip factor, and let’s face it, I must be hard on my footwear. The more durable the better!

