The felted slippers are finished! I’m still waiting to find no-slip soles for the bottom, but I consider them complete as they are.

 

 

Thanks so much to those who took the time to comment the other day. I really love hearing from other knitters! In one comment, Lisa mentioned that I might be wise to felt these slippers at the same time. That way, I would ensure that they were felted to the same size. I think that this is wise advise. Next time, and there will be a next time, I’ll do it that way. However, at this moment, I don’t have a bag large enough to launder both items together. I just have a little bag, to put delicate items in. I have seen the suggestion to use a pillow protector for this purpose, but ours are all in use. Anyway, I had an ulterior motive. I was afraid that I was going to wreck the first one. I would rather re-knit one slipper, than two. So, the first slipper was a test. It worked out, so I went ahead with the second one. I checked on it every five minutes, while it was in the washing machine, to make sure that I took it out at just the right time. I’m really happy with the way they turned out. I think they’ve got a little of the “cool” factor…more than your average store bought slippers anyway.

So, that felting experiment turned out so well, that I’m going to do some more!

 

Southwest Style Bag & Belt

 

I’m going to do this bag. Perhaps I’ll do the belt too, at a later time. I guess I’d better buy another pillow protector for the felting! I don’t know if you can tell by the picture, but there are silver beads on the bag. This should be interesting! The beads have to be washable, and I’ve purchased some, but they don’t say whether they’re washable or not. I’ve done a test swatch, so we’ll see what happens to the beads in the washing machine. I’m going to try to make the bag long enough to accommodate straight knitting needles, in case I need it to carry knitting projects. Also, I’m going to start my second Shetland Triangle soon as well. So, lots to do!

