It has been a while since I’ve posted. I’m still here, and I’m reading all of your blogs, except not as consistently as I was. I hope that life returns to normal around here sometime, but right now it’s anything but normal. As I mentioned in previous posts, my husband has some sort of mysterious illness. He keeps getting shuffled from one doctor to another, with a lot of waiting in between…..it’s infuriating. Anyway, I only mention this to explain my, personal, lack of energy and concentration at the moment.

I mentioned that I’ve been swatching. Aimlessly. Here are a couple of swatches that actually look like they might be something….eventually.

 

Swatching Rowanspun

 

These swatches were both done in Rowanspun DK on 3.75 mm needles. I was thinking of doing a cabled sweater, and I chose a few different cable patterns to swatch, in order to see what they’d look like in this lightweight wool. The brown swatch on the bottom has been blocked. The resulting fabric ended up being much softer than it was before blocking. However, I think that the halo obscures the cables a bit. The chevron cable is a bit disappointing. I don’t know if a few more repeats would have made a difference or not. Do the chevrons show up well enough? Do any of the cables show up well enough?

I haven’t even decided what colour to use. My preference is the green, but I may save that for something else. Do you see what I mean about my lack of concentration? Decisions, decisions, decisions…..

