My husband and I know a couple who have been trying forever, forever, to get pregnant. Now, thanks to the help of Dr. Soandso, they are expecting a baby in October! We are so extremely happy for them. I’d really like to knit something special. I was thinking about a sweater, but DH thought a baby blanket would be nice. I have a pattern from Animal Knits by Zoë Mellor that I think is cute. The pattern calls for Rowan Cotton Glace, but I need a less expensive alternative. I was thinking about using Elann Sonata instead. I’m having some trouble picking out the colours though. I was wondering if you could give me your advice? One problem is that I don’t know the gender of the baby. So, the colours would have to be gender neutral.

I tried to find an online photo of the blanket I want to knit. I couldn’t find one, so I guess I’ll post one myself. I’m a bit worried about copyright issues, but I know that other people post pictures like this, so I hope I’m not over the line. Don’t hurt me. (Please understand that I have not knit this yet. This is a photo from the book.)

 

Baby blanket

 

Those are rusty orange colours in there, blues, and a very light yellow. The orange colours in the Sonata yarn are less rusty. Anyway, I’ve been working on some options. Which do you like better?

 

Test Colours 1   Test Colours 2   Test Colours 3

                                       1                                   2                                  3

 

Test Colours 4   Test Colours 6   Test Colours 5

                                         4                                 5                                   6

 

You can click on any of the above swatches to see larger versions. Any help out there? Any other ideas entirely? Should I stick with doing a sweater? Ha! This is way too much thinking…not enough knitting.

