It has been a while since my last post hasn’t it? Wow. I hope I’ll actually get this one completed this evening. I mentioned that we have had guests. My mother-in-law and sister-in-law drove here from Ontario. It was great to have them here, and they have spoiled the kids rotten. We had a celebration for my daughter’s fifth birthday. I had been planning to have a party with all of her friends. However, when our visitors came, we decided to have a spur of the moment family party. This was on Canada Day…with no grocery stores open….and no cake. I made a hasty visit to the 24 hour Shoppers Drug Mart for cake mixes. Thank goodness I had seen this blog post by Anny Purls! She recently made a fabulous caterpillar cake that was right up my daughter’s ally. Anny probably didn’t use cake mixes, but I was desperate and in a hurry. This was the result:

 

Caterpillar Cake

 

I did make the seven minute icing myself. It’s smeared all over the tray too. So, I’m not Martha Stewart. Oh, well. I made the cakes using different sizes of Pyrex measuring cups as moulds. I did five moulds for five years. (Also, I did five because that’s how much cake mix I had.) I put M & Ms all over, and added licorice for legs and antennae. Thank goodness Shopper’s Drug Mart carries those things! My daughter couldn’t have been happier with the whole deal.

Guess what else happened? Our visitors brought their knitting!! Yay! I had knitting company. My sis-in-law had just learned to knit, and was practicing. See?

 

SIL - First time knitter!

 

There were a few holes along the way, but there was definite improvement during her stay with us. She did much more than what is shown in this picture. She even did some purl rows. By now, her practice swatch is as large as the back portion of a sweater! She could totally do it.

This is my mother-in-law’s knitting:

 

MIL - Knitting Oven Mitts

 

Here she was knitting oven mitts. During her stay with us, she completed 4 sets of oven mitts and a pair of felted clogs!! Cool. I should’ve taken pictures of the finished items, but I didn’t think of it. I’m trying to convince her to sell her oven mitts on Etsy. They are two layers thick, and work really well. No burned hands.

I was knitting these:

 

Animal Blanket - Work in Progress

 

My yarn arrived from Elann.com. So, I started on the squares for the baby “Animal Blanket”. I still have to block, or steam, the animal squares, and weave the ends in. I may have to rethink the colour arrangement too. I’m not sure about the ecru lion.

The Hempathy sweater is on hold until I can get some needles. Can you believe that no one here carries 3.5 mm needles? The LYS didn’t have any, and the two WalMarts here had every size but 3.5 mm. I resorted to Zellers too, but no luck. I’m so tired of this happening, that I ordered a whole set from Knit Picks. They haven’t come yet. I like to support my LYS, but it’s just so tiny…. They have Addis, but not a large enough selection.

Another reason for my lack of posts lately is that my husband had a setback in his chemotherapy treatments. His white cell count went dangerously low after chemo (with fever etc), and he had to be taken to emerge and was put into “isolation” for the weekend. Things had been going so well up to this point. My mother-in-law and sister-in-law extended their stay, to help us all out. Now, my husband is recovering at home. He’s feeling much better, and we’ll just hope that things can go smoothly from here on.

