Thanks everyone, for indulging me in a rather personal post last time. I don’t usually do that, but it turned out that it was very cathartic for me. My family seemed to enjoy the tribute too, so that pleases me. I appreciate your comments tremendously! I don’t know if I will find the time to reply to everyone. So much is going on here that I don’t even have time to read my favourite blogs! I’ll just say here….thank you….sincerely.

On to knitting. I’ve been knitting with the Hempathy yarn. Oh, how I love it! I will definitely be using it again. I love the drape of it, the feel of it, and the look of it. However, the stitches are slippery little suckers, and I’ve lost more than a few! I’m using the Knit Picks needles, which arrived a while ago in the mail. I might be better off using bamboo needles, but I’ll continue using these. I haven’t had to rip back at all, but I’ve heard from Zarah that it’s a big pain in the neck. The two strands come apart and cause a big mess. I’ll just hope that doesn’t happen!

 

Hempathy Sweater

 

This is going to (hopefully) be a sweater for myself. I’ll let you know what pattern it is, as soon as I figure out if it’s going to work out or not. One yarn store owner told me that it was ridiculous to try this pattern with the Hempathy yarn. eek! So, I purchased the yarn somewhere else. Ha! I’m trying the pattern anyway. If it doesn’t work, it doesn’t work.

This is the swatch I did:

 

Hempathy Swatch

 

There it is, blocked and looking marvelous. However, it lied. It lied big time. I used the same sized needles for the swatch, but a different brand. I don’t know if that could have made the difference or not. Anyway, I’m making adjustments to the sweater as I go. I don’t know what else to do about it. Hope I guess.

I’m trying to see if I can get away to see the Yarn Harlot in Halifax. It would be nice to hear her speak, and to meet other like-minded knitters. Also, whew, I sure could use a holiday, even if it is only for one day and night! My husband just had a chemo treatment yesterday, and I have to be sure that he’s okay, AND that he’ll be able to take care of the children while I’m gone. That’s a tall order.

