I‘m still in the Harlot zone. I still can’t get over the whole trip to Halifax. As fantastic as it was to meet Stephanie herself, the highlight was to be able to meet so many other east coast knitters. As people began to leave after the event, I wanted to grab hold of them and ask them to stay a while longer. There were so many people that I didn’t get introduced to, and so many glimpses of awesome projects…but no chance for explanations of materials or pattern. It was impossible to meet everyone. Some people did hang around for a while, and I’m so grateful to have met them!! People got some great photos too. The Yarn Harlot mentioned Alison’s pictures, and I think that Leslie has some great ones too…nice ones of the crowd. I’m in one of Jess’s pictures – the one taken in the pub. You can only see me from the back, and my curly mop of hair. I’m on the right wearing white. I hope she emails me a copy, so I can print it off. I still can’t believe I was there; it’s all such a blur.

I mentioned that I had seven hour bus rides, to and from Halifax. I was nice to have that peaceful time to knit. A little girl, about 13 years old, sat beside me for a few hours. Her eyes were glued to my knitting the entire time. It was disconcerting, but cute.

I worked on three different projects while I was away. I worked on the mystery Hempathy sweater, the Animal Baby Blanket, and my second Shetland Triangle. I’m on the eighth pattern repeat of the Shetland Triangle now.

I think that the Hempathy sweater might actually be working out! So, I’ll tell the story on that now. Months ago, I saw someone wearing a sweater that I just absolutely loved. The sweater’s owner probably purchased it somewhere, but I didn’t get the chance to ask. The sweater was a lightweight cardigan, that had the look of linen. It sloped up the front edges, and had a ruffle around the edge, and at the sleeves. A ruffle sounds hideous doesn’t it? It wasn’t hideous; it was beautiful. I wanted to try to make one. Have you ever tried to make something, when you have something so specific in mind? I thought I was doomed to failure.

Not much other knitting was done while I scoured the internet for just the right yarn and pattern. I finally selected the Elsebeth Lavold Hempathy yarn, and I’m glad I did. The drape and weight is perfect for what I had in mind. The pattern was more difficult, and this is where I reveal the mystery. I selected Debbie Bliss’ Frill Edged Cardigan. The modeled photo on the pattern makes the sweater look a bit slouchy, but I’m hoping that’s just a bad picture. The pattern calls for Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk DK, a far cry from the Hempathy I had in mind. More than one person tried to talk me out of it, but dang it all, I wanted to do it!!

 

Hempathy Sweater

 

That’s what I’ve done so far. My row gauge is off, but I’m compensating by adding a few rows here and there. The fronts and back of the sweater are knit all at once on a circular needle. I used the 3.5 mm Knit Picks Options needles, with a 47″ cord. Now that I’ve cast off the two sides, I’m just finishing up the back. It’s nice to get rid of some of those stitches! What’s great about having a set of Knit Picks needles is that I can switch to a shorter cord, now that I’m working with fewer stitches. There is a textured vertical line throughout the sweater. You can hardly see it in my photos, but I hope that it shows up better after blocking.

 

Hempathy Sweater

 

It wasn’t too bad lugging this sweater all the way to Halifax and back. I actually fit four projects in one little bag. The sweater can be folded into a little, lightweight bundle and carted just about anywhere.

 

Hempathy Sweater

 

So, that’s the story on the mystery project. I really had my worries about whether it would work out or not. It seems to be okay so far. I hope I haven’t jinxed anything now!!

