Today is a dreary, chilly, rainy day. I have not been inspired at all for Eye Candy Friday. I hope you can make do with these photos as eye candy. Luckily, these shots were taken on our nice holiday weekend. Please keep in mind that my face is not usually all squinched up like that. It is an unnatural expression, but the best I could do. I was looking directly into the sun, which I’m sure is a no-no for good photography. In fact, tears started streaming down my face soon afterwards. My mom took the pictures for me, and this is sort of how the conversation went:

Me: “Should we take the photo on the beach in the shade? There’s no seaweed over there.” Pointing.
Mom: “Then you would have that construction area in the background.”
Me: “Oh, right. Should we take it under this tree, in the shade?”
Mom: “I can hardly see you in the pictures, and you have speckled light all over you.”
Me: “Right, okay. How about in this Adirondack chair in the sun?”
Mom: “Too windy. Your hair is all over the place, and do you know you’re frowning?”
Me: “Crap. Okay, how about on the beach, in the sun, out of the wind, water in the background not construction, sun in my eyes *sigh*, and knee deep in seaweed?”
Mom: “Hmmm, I guess, but you’re squinting, and I can’t seem to take these photos without cutting off part of your head.”
Me: “That’s fine. I’ll probably cut off my head anyway.”
Mom: Look of horror. “No, don’t do that!”

So, for my mother, here’s the photo, with my head included, such as it is. More importantly, here’s my FO!!

 

Frill Edged Cardigan

This pattern calls for Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk DK, and what I used is nothing like it. However, it turned out as I had hoped. I really like the weight, drape, and feel of the Hempathy yarn. Of course, my gauge was off. So, I added a few rows, here and there, trying not to affect the slope of the front shaping. I used the number of stitches recommended for a size large, for the body, and the number of stitches recommended for a size small for the sleeves. Don’t ask me how, but I ended up with something resembling a medium in both, and that’s what I hoped for. I used a bit of math, but mainly, I used the measurements of an old favourite sweater as my guide.

 

Frill Edged Cardigan

 

I thought I was going to have oodles of yarn left over, until I came to the ruffle. The infinity ruffle of doom. It went on forever. I’m convinced that if you knit the ruffle flat, it could cover the width of a king sized bed. It took 3 balls of yarn, and a bit more, just to knit the ruffle. It was so fortuitous that I had purchased the Knit Picks Options needle set, just before starting this project. I needed various needle size and cord length combinations. It was so convenient!

What else can I say about it? Well, I knit the sleeves at the same time….2 balls of yarn, and one circular needle. That way, both sleeves were done exactly the same way. It’s the first time I’ve tried that.

 

Frill Edged Cardigan Sleeve

 

Right now, I tie the centre together with some yarn, but I think I’ll try to find some nice ribbon for the purpose….nothing that will show up too much though. I tried a hook and eye, but it just didn’t work out. It was too visible.

So, that’s that! Have a great weekend everyone!

