We finally had some sun this past weekend, so I took some pictures of the finished baby blanket.

 

Animal Baby Blanket

 

  • Pattern: Animal Blanket
  • Source: Animal Knits by Zoe Mellor
  • Materials: Elann.com Sonata, 100% cotton
  • Needles: 3.75 mm
  • Dimensions: 26 inches wide, 34 inches long
  • Modification: I added an inch to the width of the border.

If the blanket looks a bit rumpled, here’s why:

 

Animal Baby Blanket

 

It wouldn’t hold still! Very windy! On a more sheltered side of our house, I took these photos to show the scale of the blanket. I dug out our old infant car seat.

 

Animal Baby Blanket

 

Here it is again with Curly the Cow. Remember her?

 

Animal Baby Blanket

 

I finally got some matching thread and put some flannel on the back. I did weave all of the ends of the knitting in, but I decided to cover up all of the seams.

 

Animal Baby Blanket

 

It has been great to have this blanket to knit, in long car rides to doctor visits, in doctor waiting rooms, while seeing the Yarn Harlot in Halifax, while on vacation etc. It has been a very portable project. Most of all, I’ve enjoyed concentrating on the long awaited, precious, baby that will be wrapped in it. It has kept my mind occupied with a joyous event. I really hope this blanket gives it’s new owner as much comfort and warmth as it has given to me.

