I hope that you all had a Merry Christmas! We are gradually digging ourselves out of the mounds of gift wrap, and toy packaging, littering our house. We had a wonderful time and many, many giggles! I thought I’d pop into the blog for a moment to report on one of my knitted gifts. I was sooooo extremely flattered to have a request this year!

Last year, I knit my brother-in-law a pair of socks. Apparently, those socks have been in the “regular use rotation”!!! Woot!! So, he asked very nicely, and sincerely, for another pair. However, we generally draw names, among the adults, for Christmas gift giving, and I didn’t draw his name this year. I don’t know if it was a plan on his part, but at Thanksgiving he was wearing his hand-knit socks from last year. If he was trying to finesse me, it worked. I would be hard pressed to turn down any request; how could I turn down such sincerity, just because I didn’t draw his name??

So, this is the new addition to his sock wardrobe, and only my second completed pair of socks:

 

Retro Rib Man Socks

 

  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Source: Favorite Socks, by Interweave
  • Materials: Dream In Color Smooshy merino superwash; Cloud Jungle colourway
  • Needles: Two circular 2.5 mm needles
  • Modifications: Done toe-up with Gusset and Eye of the Partridge Heel. I used 72 stitches.

 

Retro Rib Man Socks

 

I was so relieved that the socks fit! Whew! I was also very pleased with the Dream In Color Smooshy yarn. I don’t know yet how it washes up, but I enjoyed knitting with it very much….and I think the colours are beautiful.

 

Retro Rib Man Socks

 

Many thanks to my brother-in-law for being a patient foot model, for allowing me to use his super-duper camera, and for pouring on the glorious compliments. He’s really too good at that! He can twist my rubber arm any time.

