To those of you who took the time to comment on the Retro Rib socks, I send a sincere thank you! I have been very bad about emailing responses to people, or making blog comments though, and I apologize for that. Busy Christmas preparations, and a seriously energy sucking cold have left me completely zapped. I didn’t even get Christmas cards mailed this year. sigh All I want to do is sleep, sleep, sleep….oh, and eat the occasional candy cane or Christmas cookie for sustenance. I have been knitting between naps though!

I mentioned that this was the second pair of socks that I’ve knitted. I should clarify that by saying that I’ve knit lots of single socks, but this was only my second completed, wearable pair. Also, I do hereby solemnly swear that someday I will finish the Bayerische socks! (sidebar)

Anyway, I do have a few things to write about. I knit this scarf for my mother-in-law, and gave it to her for Christmas. She’s also a knitter, and I thought she would appreciate it… and she really did! It made me feel great to have made it for her.

 

Cashmere Lacy Scarf

 

Cashmere! It’s the first time I’ve knit with cashmere, and yes, it was wonderful! I had intended to make a cabled scarf, but the skeins were very small, and I didn’t think the yardage would be enough. So, instead I opted for this lacy pattern. Unfortunately, these photos were taken while the scarf was in progress, and unblocked, but I think you can get the general idea.

 

Cashmere Lacy Scarf

 

Look what I got as a Christmas gift! I love it!

 

Knitting bag

 

This is the Namaste Jetsetter knitting bag. It was purchased for me at my favourite local yarn store (LYS), which isn’t local to me unfortunately. How incongruous is that statement? It was purchased at The Needle Emporium in Ancaster, Ontario. I love the bag because I can use it as a knitting bag/purse combo, so I don’t have to carry two bags around. It’s long enough to carry long knitting needles, it’s durable, and it has lots of inside space and pockets. I’d like one in every colour. Kidding! I’m spoiled enough as it is.

I also received these great scissors from my mother-in-law. Perfect! I’m all set!

 

Knitting scissors

 

Happy New Year everyone!

