I‘ve been getting some socks checked off my knitting “to do” list. Funny how the list keeps getting longer, instead of shorter. When I purchased yarn for my brother-in-law’s socks, I wasn’t sure how much a man’s pair was going to require. So, I purchased two skeins of the Dream in Color Smooshy yarn, just to be sure. Well, it turned out that I had enough yarn left over for another pair of socks as well. So, here’s the second pair:

 

Asparagus Socks

 

This pattern is for toe-up socks. A year or two ago, I learned about toe-up socks on Wendy’s blog, and I’m a convert now. It’s definitely my favourite method. My mother-in-law called it the “backward way” until, over the Christmas holidays, I made her a convert too!! She’s on her second or third pair now. Yay! Once she gets started on something, she can’t stop. She’s still creating felted clogs at a rip-roaring pace too! I digress…

 

Asparagus Socks

 

I don’t know why the socks look brown in these photos. They’re actually olive in colour. I tried taking the pictures in every possible light, in every possible position. The acrobatics involved were amusing to my family. I even went outside, in -4 degree Celsius weather, to take pictures of my feet in the natural light. Good grief. My neighbours probably think I’m crazy. Maybe I am. However, 300 photos later, I still don’t have a photo showing the actual sock colour. It’s especially frustrating because I’m using my new and “better” Christmas camera. Anyway, to see the actual yarn colour, please refer to the photo of my brother-in-law’s socks, taken with his camera. Alternatively, just imagine that these socks look olive.

 

Asparagus Socks

 

I have mentioned before that I have a problem wearing wool next to my skin. I find it to be very scratchy, especially on my feet. However, this yarn is 100 percent merino wool, and I don’t have a problem wearing it. What a pleasant surprise! I’m keeping this pair for myself!

