Well, I’ve been hunkered down with my knitting for the past couple of days. We had an ice storm, and as it has been extremely cold ever since, the ice has remained. I ventured out at one point, and promptly slid on the driveway, with feet flying. I put some sand on the driveway, went inside, and haven’t stuck my nose out since.

One of the reasons I went out, in the first place, was to take some photos. Our poor little birch trees are so laden with ice; they’re drooping to the ground. The ice though, is like glittering diamonds. The photos I took don’t do justice to the beauty of it. This is a photo heavy post though, because I just can’t help myself.

This was taken just after the storm, and as you can see, the storm clouds were still lurking.

 

Ice Storm

 

This was taken from my dining room toy room window.

 

Ice Storm

 

See the poor trees?

 

Ice Storm

 

….and some more photos….

 

Ice Storm

 

Ice Storm

 

Ice Storm

 

Believe it or not, that’s not all of the pictures. I actually did narrow it down. Here’s a question for any tech savvy people out there, does the fact that my photos are hosted on Flickr help someone to view a photo heavy blog post? Sorry, to anyone with a dial up connection.

Now, here’s a Ravelry story for you. Remember the animal baby blanket I knit a while ago? Well, I noticed, in Ravelry, that someone in Texas is knitting the same blanket, in the same substitute yarn that I used. She is using different colours, and I’m so intrigued to see how it comes out. I decided to tell her so. I sent her a message using “Rav mail”. She responded by noting that I live in New Brunswick, Canada, and she is originally from xoxox City, NB. “My goodness”, I wrote back, “I’m living on the outskirts of that city! What is your name, perhaps you went to school with a member of my family?” She mentioned her name, which rang a bell, but I couldn’t put my finger on why. I emailed all of my siblings. They knew the last name right away. Her family lives two doors down from my parents!!! I live in a small town folks; this is crazy weird. Do things like that happen just to freak me out?

Oh, and I finished the mittens! Here they are.

 

Herringbone Mittens

 

  • Pattern: Herringbone Mittens
  • Source: Elliphantom’s Blog. The pattern is a free pdf file here.
  • Materials: Strange combo of acrylic stash yarn and Nashua Creative Focus Superwash
  • Needles: 3.75 mm and 4.5 mm circular. Magic Loop!
  • Modification: I knit the cuffs slightly longer than called for in the pattern.

That photo was a bit blurry, so here’s another one…mitten with icy twigs. See how that works? I get to sneak in another ice photo.

 

Herringbone Mittens

 

I really recommend this mitten pattern. It’s fun to knit, it whips along, and the pattern is free! I mentioned that this pair is being given to our local shelter, but I have another pair on the needles for my daughter. I’d better get back to it!

