Where does the time go? The last time I blogged, I was working on mittens for my daughter. As it turns out, they were too big, so I had to frog a bit and start again. Then, they were put on hold, so that I could knit my father a scarf for his birthday.

When you’re thinking of knitting a man’s scarf, what pattern do you think of? I immediately thought of Brooklyn Tweed’s Striped Noro Scarf. It took me a while to locate the same colours, but I managed. Due to the fact that I couldn’t view the colours in person, I wanted to get the tried and true combo.

 

Dad's Noro Scarf

 

If you want the specs for this scarf, I refer you to Brooklyn Tweed’s blog. My version was done the same way. I only made one modification. I used 43 stitches in total (including selvage). So, I ended up with a wider scarf, at 6.5 inches.

 

Dad's Noro Scarf

 

The only thing I should add, is that there were numerous times when the contrast between colours was negligible. I didn’t fuss around too much, with this problem. I was in a hurry to be finished. I just cut out a section of colour, from one ball of yarn, until I reached a colour with more contrast. There was still plenty of yardage left for a six foot long scarf. I was slightly worried about the scratchiness of the yarn. However, blocking softened the yarn significantly.

 

Dad's Noro Scarf Dad's Noro Scarf

 

The 1 X 1 rib gives the appearance of stockinette stitch. However, the edges don’t curl, and the result is a lovely, thick, reversible, flat fabric. Also, the wool/kid mohair/silk yarn content will ensure that my father is nice and warm. I hope he will like this belated birthday present. It’s ready just in time for his month long cruise around New Zealand, then off to Florida. Something tells me he won’t need a scarf. Timing is everything!!! sigh.

Last weekend, we went on a mini family vacation to Moncton, NB. The kids had a great time at an indoor amusement park. Unfortunately, that evening numerous boys’ hockey teams stayed at our hotel. The door slamming, yelling, and running up and down the hallway went on until midnight. My kids normally go to bed at 7:30pm. They couldn’t get to sleep with the noise, so it was not a happy night. The rabble-rousers also completely took over the pool and waterslide. That pool was the reason we wanted to stay there in the first place, and we were disappointed. Anyway, luckily the amusement park made up for it. The next day, I went to a sale at the London-Wul yarn shop. That’s where I got to play! I might have purchased a few things. They were all on sale!

 

Purchases

 

Kelly walked into the shop just after I did. I haven’t seen her in a long time, so it was nice to see her again. If you happen to see a photo of me on her blog, please keep in mind that I had no sleep. I was fried, and had no ambition to do my hair. šŸ™‚ She introduced me to Deb, another knitblogger! Yay!

When I left London-Wul, I went to the new Moncton location of Cricket Cove. I might have purchased a few more things.

 

Purchases

 

This bamboo yarn looks wonderful. It’s also machine washable! I thought it might be a good yarn substitution in Debbie Bliss patterns. As I was leaving the shop, Kelly and Deb turned up again! It turns out that Deb was on a mission for the exact yarn that I bought. She wanted pink, and I guess I took almost the whole pink supply. Oops.

