The other day, I had the opportunity to go out with a friend, for munchies, beer and knitting! It was March break here, for the kids, and I was going crazy, with the mayhem going on at our house. It was so nice to have a break too! I got these finished for my daughter:

 

Child Size

 

These Herringbone Mittens were done exactly the same way as the other pair I made, but I used smaller needles this time. I used 3mm needles, and the mittens fit my five year old cutie-pie (who I noticed needs a hair cut). They fit a little bit big, but that was intentional. As this winter is almost over (right??), I wanted the mittens to fit her next year as well.

 

Child Size

Outtake

 

I knit the cuff portion 3 inches long, so that they could be tucked up under her jacket. That was her wish, and mine. šŸ™‚ Just so you know, I highly recommend the beer and knitting combo. I lost a few stitches, but I picked them up again…no problem.

 

Child Size

 

In other news, I won a blog prize! Somehow, I managed to guess the number of heart shaped candies in a jar, or I guessed close enough anyway. I have never received a blog prize before! Just expecting this treat in the mail made my week!

 

Green Gables Blog Prize!

 

These are treats from the Anne of Green Gables store in Charlottetown, PEI. They are courtesy of Carol, otherwise known as Island Girl. Thanks so much Carol! I decided that I’d better hurry up and take a photo of these things, so that I can dig in! There’s a seed packet in there too, and I know just where I’m going to use it. We have a slope that needs some TLC, and I’m going to cast those seeds around…urm, when the snow is gone… The strawberry tea, on the other hand, is going to be used right away!

