I have sooooo much to catch up on. I don’t even know where to begin. I have actually completed some projects, but I still have to photograph them for the blog. So, I’m thinking that I’ll begin with our trip in June, which I have photos of. My husband and I took the kids to Ontario, for two relaxing weeks. We flew to Ontario, but took short drives when we got there. We spent most of our time in London, where my husband’s family lives. My mother-in-law and I even went to a local knit night there, which was so much fun! Did I remember to take a photo of that? No.

We took some time and went to Toronto, where we visited the Ontario Science Centre. They have a special kid’s section that our two really enjoyed! Then, the next day we went to the Toronto Zoo! You may remember that my kids are huge, gignormous animal lovers. Well, we all had a glorious day at that zoo! Here’s a taste for you:

Toronto Zoo Mosaic

1. Lion at the Toronto Zoo, 2. Zebra at the Toronto Zoo, 3. Gifaffes, 4. Toronto Zoo, 5. Elephant at the Toronto Zoo, 6. Gorilla, 7. Toronto Zoo, 8. Touching the Stingrays, 9. Huge Fish Tank, 10. Toronto Zoo, 11. Matschie’s Tree Kangaroo at the Toronto Zoo, 12. Elephants, 13. Giraffe Sticking It’s Tongue Out At Us

That’s my daughter patting the stingray. The stingrays seemed very playful. One actually leaped in the air, and splashed us all. That did not seem to happen often. Our interpretation was that he liked us, but I hope we weren’t irritating him/her. Oh, in one of those photos, I caught a giraffe sticking his tongue out at us. You can click the links to see the individual pictures larger. I particularly like the zebra photo, but the mosaic cuts off it’s head. 😦

Another day, we went to the The Donkey Sanctuary of Canada, in Guelph.

The Donkey Sanctuary of Canada

I was not really aware that there’s a need for a donkey sanctuary, but apparently there is. These donkeys are from all over North America, and have been abused or neglected in the past. This farm has taken in 45 animals, and runs on donations. My sister sponsored one of the donkeys, in my children’s names, as a gift to them. They were mailed frequent updates on the goings on at the sanctuary, and our donkey in particular….Hershey. This is him on the right.

Hershey (dark brown)

My kids made constant requests to visit Hershey; so, we finally did. I think Hershey knew we were his special people. He really loved us. How do I know?

Hershey

He was downright laughing!

Hershey laughing

This is a knitting blog though, so it seems appropriate that I should add some sheep amongst these animal photos.

Fanshawe Pioneer Village Fanshawe Pioneer Village

We saw these little lambies at Fanshawe Pioneer Village, in London.

Here’s another place I visited, The Needle Emporium, in Ancaster.

The Needle Emporium

I have been wanting to go to this yarn store, and meet the owner, Julie, for a long, long time. I was not disappointed. My eyes seriously bugged out at all of the yarn. I wanted to bury myself in it, and just lie there for a while. It was overwhelming. Here’s my mother-in-law looking through some patterns:

The Needle Emporium

Julie, the owner, was fantastic too! I already knew that, but it was nice to meet her in person. She is very knowledgeable about everything to do with knitting. She goes to trade shows all over the place. She is attuned to the internet knitting communities, and patterns that are available on-line. She knows where it’s at! It’s a pleasure to read her blog too, and get sneak peeks at what’s up and coming. From reading the blog, I felt that I was familiar with the store already, but I was not prepared. I have not seen so much yarn all in one place! My pictures don’t do it justice really, because I didn’t get pictures of every room.

The Needle Emporium The Needle Emporium

The Needle Emporium

I wasn’t the only one who had a great time there. My mother-in-law is planning a return visit A.S.A.P! You may wonder if we made any purchases. Oh, yes….yes we did! I’m still trying to log everything into Ravelry. Some items aren’t going to make it into Ravelry at all. There’s no point now, because it’s gone! I used it. More on that another time.

This is one project that I was working on during the trip. It’s squares for the Lizard Ridge blanket, from Knitty.

Squares For Lizard Ridge Blanket
Colours from left to right: 184, 213, 180

Square for Lizard Ridge Blanket
Colour: 209

My LYS, Greggo Sewing, is going to start a knitalong, for Lizard Ridge, sometime soon. I bought my Noro there, and got a head start. I blog quite a bit about stores I visit on trips, but I can’t leave out my LYS! It’s very welcoming, they will order just about anything for you, and well, it’s home base. The blanket will be a long term project for me. There’s no rush.

So, I’m caught up now for June. sheesh! There’s more to come, whenever I get my photos sorted out.

